Dtox Sundaes
Hey guy. How are you?

Kongisto
09:30
Hey you, supness?

Dtox Sundaes
I want to do a quick interview with you for the event page.

Kongisto
09:31
Shoot

Dtox Sundaes
09:33
Describe your music, for someone who has never heard you play before.

Kongisto
09:36
Well it’s an eclectic blend of Hip Hop Soul, Razor sharp beat cuts, nu-jazz, old school Hip and RnB. Once in a while I may throw in some Indie Rock just mess with your ears and head

Dtox Sundaes
09:37
hahha

Kongisto
09:37
next

Dtox Sundaes
09:37
What has influenced your music style? Why do you play the music you play?

Kongisto
09:39
Initially I got to blame my first love for getting me here – Hip Hop. Not Happy clapper music but Hip Hop.
Growing up on Special Ed, A Tribe Called Quest, Public Enenmy, NWA, Africa Bambaata. In the times of KMD clicks and EPMD.

Next was strange enough House Music. The deep sensations of early and late nineties House Giants like
Miguel Migs, Rasoul collectively known as Nightsource, Seasons Recording and Guidance recordings.

Dtox Sundaes
09:42
nice

Kongisto
09:42
Even though it was dubbed house at the time

Dtox Sundaes
09:42
🙂

Kongisto
09:42
It had elements of broken beat, nujazz vocals and hip hop elements – Kenny Dope Gonzales and Louie Vega had a big influence in my love for music too Goldie had a big influence, Tony Humphries
Romanthony.

Those guys weren’t playing house they were playing music.

Dtox Sundaes
09:45
True

Kongisto
09:45
That’s the thing about being an eclectic deejay – you somehow have to say fuck the genre. I play music.

Dtox Sundaes
09:47
I love it

Kongisto
09:48
Thanks, hehe

Dtox Sundaes
09:48
So where in Joburg do we go to hear this music?

Kongisto
09:49
I have to see it’s kinda hard to come by these days…
*say

Dtox Sundaes
09:49
True

Kongisto
09:50
I know the new 206 Tuesday nites at Bassline should bring through something of that caliber. We try and bring that art out with every CHOCOLATE SUNDAES. DTOX SUNDAES represents that sound pretty well too. Every once in a while, Party People represents and festivals like Oppi Koppi and Rocking the Daisies.

Dtox Sundaes
09:53
Do you think this genre of music will ever be popular enough to be on high rotation on mainstream radio?

Kongisto
09:55
It’s been in circulation since the 70s

Dtox Sundaes
09:55
But I’m talking high rotation though?

Kongisto
09:55
High rotation, if these kids today change their mind set. I mean it’s up to us as Deejays to inform the younger generation of these musical treasures.

Dtox Sundaes
10:01
Too true

Kongisto
10:01
Too many artists are spreading the wrong message about what music and what it should mean to you

Dtox Sundaes
10:01
And what is that? What message are they spreading?

Kongisto
10:03
It’s not about music that makes you want to buy designer labels and look bootylicious or even having that flashy car or house. It’s about music that makes you feel good. Feel good music!

Dtox Sundaes
10:03
🙂
I like that. So now you’ve played at Dtox Sundaes before and have been following the movement. What do you think of the brand, the events and the movement?

Kongisto
10:06
I respect what Dtox is doing about the lack of representation for music that is alternative.

Dtox Sundaes
10:07
What is your best Dtox Sundaes moment?

Kongisto
Outside of me deejaying there? It was when the Blk Jks came through. Mindblowing! And when I played alongside DJ Zakes of Splash Jam. Musical history was made that night. I think (he knows it too lol).

Dtox Sundaes
10:12
Zakes is awesome. Lastly, what you got for us this next Dtox Sundaes on the 14th of November ko Private Practice (Lister Building Rooftop)?

Kongisto
10:16
Something for the discerning ear because I haven’t really had an opportunity to do that lately, I’ve been mashing a lot of my breaks with commercial beats to appeal to listeners. This time I wanna take people on a journey if they let me.

Dtox Sundaes
10:27
We really just can’t wait. You have been a rock star. Thank you for your time

